• Silver Celtic Jewelry

    Celtic Jewelry

    Irish Jewelry

  • Cross Jewelry For Women

    Womens Cross Necklaces

    Sterling silver cross Necklaces for women

  • ASL Jewelry

    Sign Language Jewelry

    Sterling silver Sign language ASL Jewelry

  • Christian Jewelry

    Christian Necklace

    Sterling silver Christian Jewelry

  • Claddagh Rings

    Claddagh jewelry

    Claddagh rings

  • Christian Subjects

    May 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Trust In The Lord – Thy Will Be Done

Trust In The Lord – Thy Will Be Done

While I was pondering the scriptures I made a connection that I had never before seen (a good reason for reading and pondering the scriptures daily). There’s always something new to learn.

I knew these passages of scripture in a stand alone fashion but until today I never saw them put together.  I think they were meant to be put together all along. I guess one of my problems was that these scriptures we separated by some being on the Old Testament and some in the New Testament.

I was thinking on the subject that several scripture passages teach which is “Thy will be done”. Twice this subject comes up in two books, Matthew and Luke with regards to the “Lords Prayer”. Another time the concept comes up in Luke with Christ being in the garden of Gethsemane preparing to suffer for the sins of the world.

Here are the three examples of Christ teaching this doctrine, two from the “Lords Prayer” and the other from when Christ was in Gethsemane.

Matthew 6:10 Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.

Luke 11:2 And he said unto them, When ye pray, say, Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done, as in heaven, so in earth.

Matthew 26:42 He went away again the second time, and prayed, saying, O my Father, if this cup may not pass away from me, except I drink it, thy will be done.

remember we have talked before in this scripture blog that we need to liken the scriptures to ourselves. The Lords prayer teaches us to ask for the Lords will to be done in our lives as it is done in heaven.

Many of us have our lives in a planned out fashion. We have goals and desires and expectations of how our lives will turn out. The question is, did we make these plans and develop these desires with the Lords will in mind?

When we pray do we include “thy will be done”? If we do, do we really feel the power of that phrase? Are we willing to let go of everything we ever planned for in order to accommodate the Lords will? Have our desires changed over time to accommodate the Lords will in our life?

Are we afraid that the Lords will could cause a change in our life that may not be so pleasant? Perhaps a little uncomfortable? Do we feel like we’re good (not perfect) but good and decent people practicing good Christian principles in our life? Do we really need to seek after the Lords will.

Put more simply, are we afraid that the Lords will, will require changes to difficult for us to handle or lead us down a road we hadn’t planned on taking?

That’s where my difficulty comes into play. I consider myself a good Christian with basically good desires. I recognize I am far from perfect. I recognize my dependence on the mercies of God. I’m grateful for repentance.

Here are two passages of Christian scripture that teach us to trust in the Lord:

Psalm 4:5 Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and put your trust in the LORD

Proverbs 3:5 Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding

If we trust in the Lord that means, in part, that we can rely on the Lord for our eternal good. We’ve talked about trust coming after faith. It’s one thing to believe or have faith but another to trust.

There’s that old teaching tool in seminars about taking two people, one falls backward into the others arms. There is fear that needs to be transformed into trust. If you were paired off with the Lord would you have any fear of falling into His arms? NO.

Same principle in life. If we really trust in the Lord then we shouldn’t fear the Lords will for us. If we trust in the Lords will then we open ourselves to a whole new world of possibilities, a whole new world of spiritual growth.

It may not always be easy or fun but it will always be worth it. Wearing Christian jewelry like a silver cross necklace as a reminder to rust in he Lord is a great idea to consider.

5 Responses

  1. Thank you for your interpretation of God’s word. I concur with your thoughts here. The more we die to self, the more in-line our will is with the Lord’s. There are times of doubt and even unbelief. During these times we must rely even more so on the Lord and his Holy Spirit. In Christ, Todd

  2. When I had cancer and didn’t know whether I’d wake up the next morning, I was saying the Our Father, and those words shook me to my roots. Thy will be done on earth as it is in Heaven. I had been saying this prayer since I was a child, but never had realized thier power. When I let God be in charge, it was no longer up to me, and I became very peaceful. I trusted the Lord no matter the outcome, in Heaven or on earth. I still tell people to just leave their troubles up to God, it really isn’t up to us.

  3. GOD really blessed me thru your life.. yes.. we are always claiming we are living with this desire to let GOD’s will happen in our lives but more often than not we cannot really let go of our own selfish desires and pre-planned destiny for our good. May GOD always allow us to bow in reverence and be completely captured by HIs will so that our lives be in the right direction.d.j.e

  4. God is really good all the time. Thank you for the messages that I’ve been read, because my life has been changed. and I want to trust and rely on him more. Lord you will be done. Amen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

